The Convergence Scholars Program

Administered jointly by the <u>Marble Center for Cancer Nanomedicine</u> and the <u>MIT Center for Precision Cancer Medicine</u>, the Convergence Scholars Program (CSP) fosters the development of a new type of scientist—one who understands a broad range of disciplinary approaches, is able to ask creative questions, and is trained to answer those questions with diverse tools. By preparing postdocs for life beyond the bench, the CSP helps young scientists hone the skills they need to succeed within and beyond the academic setting.

CSP Scholars receive training, mentors, insights, and inroads into careers in academia, industry, health care, the policy arena, and federal research or regulatory agencies. Building upon on strong partnerships between the Koch Institute, the MIT community, and industry and clinical partners around greater Boston, the Scholars gain critical knowledge about the clinical development life cycle, policy and regulation, technology transfer, education and outreach, business and finance, and clinical practice. The Scholars participate in professional development workshops to enhance their communication, science management, and science leadership skills, and also receive a stipend for supplemental professional activities and travel. Since its inception in 2017, the CSP has offered postdoctoral fellows the opportunity to explore their futures more deeply and thoughtfully, and as a result has launched many careers in academia and industry.

Application rounds for the CSP program are held each summer and announced via participating Centers.



Introducing the 2020-2021 KI Convergence Scholars. *Marble Center Scholars (top row, from left)*: Shengnan Huang (Belcher Lab), Alice Stanton (Langer Lab), Nicholas Lamson (Hammond Lab), Tahoura Samad (Bhatia Lab), Parisa Yousefpour (Irvine Lab), and Siddharth Krishnan (Anderson Lab). *MIT Center for Precision Cancer Medicine (bottom row, from left)*: Daniel Goulet (Hemann Lab), Jeffrey Davis (Vander Heiden Lab), Jasmin Kruell (Koehler Lab), Ingred Goretti Rica (Yaffe Lab), Tigist Tamir (White Lab), and Ye Zhang (Manalis Lab).